Skip to content ↓

A Primary Trust for Primary Schools

Lumen Learning Trust

The Echelford Primary School

Assemblies

Collective Worship

By law, collective worship takes place every day. At the end of assemblies children have a brief opportunity to reflect on the teachings that have just been shared, as well as their own values and beliefs. Worship is “broadly Christian” but regularly draws on teachings from other religions/ cultures. Parents have the right to withdraw their children from collective worship however we encourage parents who may be considering this to discuss it fully with our RE subject leader or a member of the Leadership team to see what else can be done to alleviate particular anxieties about this important aspect of provision. 

Assemblies

In assemblies at Echelford Primary School staff and visitors support children in the development of their spiritual, moral, social and cultural (SMSC) understanding. Assemblies also provide an opportunity for staff and children to come together to celebrate each other’s successes.

We welcome visitors from all religious communities and are currently building relationships within the local community to support us in leading a range of assemblies for the children. Children are often asked to reflect on what they have heard in assembly and to record their responses, questions and comments which are collected in their reflection journals. 

Class assembly dates 2019- 2020

RB

Wednesday 6th May

RC

Wednesday 20th May

RS

Wednesday 17th June

1G

Wednesday 12th February

1HB

Wednesday 18th March

1L

Wednesday 11th March

2C

Wednesday 16th October

2J

Wednesday 2nd October

2WM

Wednesday 13th November

3D

Wednesday 29th April

3E

Wednesday 5th February

3L

Wednesday 20th November

4A

Wednesday 15th January

4B

Wednesday 29th January

4R

Wednesday 4th March

5J

Wednesday 22nd January

5M

Wednesday 10th June

5W

Wednesday 24th June

6G

Wednesday 9th October

6L

Wednesday 6th November

6S

Wednesday 25th September